Baltic Sea Maritime Spatial Planning for Sustainable Ecosystem Services (BONUS BASMATI)

Maritime Spatial Planning (MSP) requires a spatially explicit framework for decision-making, and on that background the overall objective of BONUS BASMATI is to develop integrated and innovative solutions for MSP from the local to the Baltic Sea Region (BSR) scale. This is to be realised through multi-level governance structures and interactive information technology aiming at developing an ecologically and socio-economically sound network of protected marine areas covering the Baltic Sea. Based on the results of former MSP projects, the BONUS BASMATI project sets out to analyse governance systems and their information needs regarding MSP in the BSR in order to develop an operational, transnational model for MSP, while maintaining compliance with existing governance systems. It also develops methods and tools for assessments of different plan-proposals, while including spatially explicit pressures and effects on maritime ecosystem services in order to create a spatial decision support system (SDSS) for the BSR to facilitate broad access to information. During the project running until 2020, new data will be produced and tested in assessments corresponding to policy goals. The data will support the combined analysis of the four elements of the concept of ecosystem services: provisioning, regulating, cultural and supporting services. A central aim of the project is to facilitate cross-border collaboration, and the project is carried out in close cooperation with relevant stakeholders in the BSR. The impact of the project will be facilitated and assessed in transnational case studies, where integrated solutions are required. The local scale will consist of case study areas in the Fehmarn Belt and the Gulf of Riga, and across the region, a pan-Baltic case study will be performed.

Bonus Basmati logo1

Logo Bonus2

Contact persons
Funding organisation or partners
Academy of Finland
Other funding sources
Project partners
Aalborg University, Denmark (AAU)
Aarhus University, Denmark (AU)
Nordregio, Sweden (Nordregio)
University of Turku, Finland (UTU)
Latvian Institute of Aquatic Ecology, Latvia (LIAE)
Leibniz institute for Baltic Sea Research, Germany (IOW)